Wonky crosses

I wanted to make a quilt for a dear friend who recently underwent surgery for breast cancer. I want the quilt to be hopeful, calming, but cheerful at the same time. And I wanted to be able to piece it quickly! After browsing the many many blogs and pins out there, I settled on a wonky cross design. There are a million of them out there.

Then I started throwing together fabric. That was the fun part. Then I sewed and sewed until I had about 68 blocks.

Squaring up is the most fun, isn’t it? Deeply satisfying.

Image

I didn’t document the entire process, but although this quilt is wonky, I did nest my seams when sewing the long rows of block together. And I pinned! I never pin!

The top came together very quickly. Here Smitty is walking into the room where I’ve taped it to the wall:

Image

I ended up at 8 x 9 7-1/2″ squares, or about 60″ x 68″. I think it’s a decent size for a sofa snuggler. I’m thinking straight-line quilting.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

