Totally improv

I love all of the modern quilts out there, but actually slicing up fabric and sewing it together in a way that seems purposeful and not just sloppy is daunting. Here’s my first ever attempt at improv piecing:

Image

At first I wasn’t sure what my inspiration was, but then I glanced out my window at the burgeoning spring scenery and realized where my color palette came from.

Image

Or maybe I’m just super excited that I can go see an As game soon!

It was fun, but I’m not 100% sure I’m crazy about it. Currently the top measures 50″ square. I’m undecided: should I make it bigger? How to quilt it? What to use on the back? So many decisions.

Leave a Reply

